KCETB Kilkenny and Carlow Education and Training Board
Rialtas na hEireann Government of Ireland
Rialtas na hEireann Government of Ireland
Co-Funded by the European Union

Primary Schools

ETB primary schools are known as community national schools. Community national schools (CNS) are child-centred, multi-denominational, publicly-accountable schools which strive to provide high-quality education for every child. They bestow equal opportunities to all children in the communities they serve.

Community national schools have four core values: excellence in education; multi-denominational; equality-based; community-focused.

You can find out everything you need to know about ETB primary schools by visiting the CNS website 

Opening of a New School

The Department of Education (DE) decides where and when new schools are needed in areas of demographic growth. Parents who are eligible are invited to vote for the type of school they would like to be established through an online patronage process system. If the majority of parents express their preference for an ETB school through this process, a community national school (primary) or a community college (post-primary) will be established in their area.

Transfer of School Patronage

In communities where there is an interest in opening a community national school (CNS), but the establishment of a new primary school is not feasible, an existing school may transfer patronage to the local ETB.

Where another patron, school or local community wishes to explore this option, they should visit the CNS Website and review the ETBI publication Becoming a CNS , as well as contacting KCETB for more information.

Skip to content