

Kilkenny and Carlow Education and Training Board Minutes

27 August 2024 Second Post-Election Meeting

Date: 27 August 2024

Time: 3.45pm

Venue: Carlow Institute of Further Education and Training, Kilkenny Road, Carlow

Attendance: Fergal Browne, Jenny Catt Slattery, Mary Hilda Cavanagh, Peter Cleere,

Deirdre Cullen, Maria Dollard, Andrea Dalton, Thomas Kinsella, Ger Long, Daniel Pender, Ann Penfold, Jacqueline Sheil, Joe Sheridan and Maurice

Shortall

Also in attendance: Chief Executive Eileen Curtis, Director of Organisation, Support and Development Liam Scott, Executive Support Caoimhe Byrne

The Board appointed Fergal Browne to preside at the meeting. As proposed

by Peter Cleere, seconded by Andrea Dalton and agreed.

1. Conflict of Interest

At the start of the meeting, the Chairperson reminded members about procedures for dealing with any potential conflict of interest arising during a board meeting:

The ETB Act of 2013 and the Code of Governance (2019) both state that a member of an ETB board must absent himself/herself when the board is deliberating or deciding on matters in which that member has an interest. He/she should not take any part in any deliberation of the board relating to the matter, should not influence, or seek to influence, a decision to be made in relation to the matter and should not vote on a decision relating to the matter.



2. Appointment of Members

In accordance with Section 30 (11)(b) of the Education and Training Boards Act 2013, members of the Board shall appoint 5 members to the Board of Kilkenny and Carlow Education and Training Board from among persons nominated under *paragraph* (a):

- At least one of whom shall have been nominated by a body representative of business, industry or employers;
- ii. At least one of whom shall be a body representative of learners;
- iii. At least one of whom shall be a body established for the purpose of representing the interested of persons engaged in the management of, or leadership in, recognised schools.

The Board must now select 5 person, one from each of the designated categories and two additional members.

Board members commented on the significant interest of external bodies in the work of the board of KCETB and were delighted with the choice of nominations.

As per Section 30 (11)(b) of the Education and Training Boards Act 2013, Peter Cleere proposed the following persons:

- (i) Sarah Millea Irish Hotels Federation representative of business, industry and employers;
- (ii) David Denieffe THEA and AONTAS representative of learners;
- (iii) Kathyrn Wall Youth Work Ireland representative of learners;
- (iv) Clare Ryan ACCS, NAPD and JMB representative of persons engaged in the management of, or leadership in, recognised schools;
- (v) Madailín Mhic Lochlainn Gaeloideachas representative nor in the three designated categories.

These nominations were seconded by Mary Hilda Cavanagh and agreed. These nominees are provisionally selected for appointment to the Board on the basis of completing a Declaration of eligibility as requested by the Department of Education and Skills.

It was also agreed that if for any reason any of the five selected do not take up their appointment to the Board of KCETB, the Board will then consider other persons from the valid list of nominations received.



No other business took place at this meeting.

5. Date of next meeting

03 September 2024 at 3:30pm, in Kilkenny.